The birth of Noah

Musings on whether to study more philosophy to reach to an even higher class

Written August, 2016
Today I discovered a passage about the birth of Noah from the book of Enoch that predates the bible. Jesus actually quotes a prophet from the books of Enoch in the New Testament, so Jesus considered it scripture even though the account of Genesis and God frequently contradicts most of the common folklore in the bible. Most Christians don’t know about the book, but I’ve already read a good chunk of it, since I know more than probably 90% of Christians about their religion.

It’s amazing that a passage where Noah the baby pops out of his mother’s womb covered in light to immediately talk to God wasn’t included in the bible by the church hierarchy around 300 AD. Then again, there were dozens if not hundreds of competing traditions, and there was no Christian or Jewish canon until that point. The reason we know nothing about them is that scriptures that contradicted the new canon were systematically destroyed by the church to enforce their power & political objectives, and the other related folklore/mythology was only rediscovered in fragments millenia later.

I don’t really have anything more to say! Read that for yourself. Rather, I want to talk about how how I feel when there’s a big gap between my mindset & knowledge, and that of my neighbors.

It’s quite possible that I know more than a lot of priests about the bible and other religions, without even trying. They’re held back by a pre-set way of thinking, and a host of logical fallacies.  Even if they do read more of their godly fan-fiction, I at least know that I know more about the truth because of my superior methodology and probabilism.

It’s understandable, but it’s still very sad to know so much forbidden lore, so much about the truth of the world which is hidden by millenia of taboos from the stone age. To think it’s at everyone’s finger-tips, but no one dares touch it because they’re afraid of Satan or going to hell. I can’t help but believe that people will be a lot smarter once we lose all the stone age superstitious taboos that are enforced by all religions, superstitions and fear. We will probably enter a mini-renaissance, and as we study philosophy instead, our political system will begin to improve.

How much better could our conversations be? Our literature? It takes 20 years for a new generation to be brought up, and at this rate I’m not going to see that future if I stay in America, which is by an abnormality the last remaining religious 1st world nation.

Since I want better thought material than what Americans know about, I really need to take a class in philosophy, or at least buy some books. I know I’d probably read the books because I used to try to read them when I walked to the library, but I’m seriously too cheap to buy philosophy books. I know that’s dumb, but let’s be real- who is my equal? Who could I talk with philosophy about if I did read them? There is no one, so I guess it’s rational that I remain dumb at this juncture.


They’re  not easy reads so it’s rougher than reading smooth paperback fiction. Maybe that’s why I need to take a class in philosophy so I can argue with the professor and dumb people who are trying to become smarter. I feel like philosophy is one of those fields where “You don’t even know what you don’t know,” for as long as you’re an outsider. Just like with physics: it’s a void, a blind spot a form of color-blindness… The mark of how intellectually active your mind is, is probably how many paradigm shifts they go through in your life, and the number of frameworks…no, lenses you have for looking at a problem.

What separates me from other people is how I’m aware I am of how much I don’t know. That’s why I probably won’t make as many mistakes. Even when I do jump to conclusions, I tend to remember details, and I revisit those details repeatedly, so I do eventually catch and moderate myself out of logical mistakes that elude others. I wouldn’t even be able to do that if I wasn’t a probabilist, and just assumed all certain things were irrefutably proven, and would be like most people. Or if I didn’t hate lies, and wasn’t willing to accept the truth no matter what.

I’m not sure which philosophers I’d want to read. I am gradually creating a “to-read” “have read” and “I want to read more” list.

I must pay a lot more heed to what the Atheists say is interesting material, since they have more diverse reading habits and are more credible. I wouldn’t have even thought about the book of Enoch today, had one of them not asked, “What do you guys think of the Nephilim?” (He meant meant the giants born when angels had sex with humans in the early “bible”, but he didn’t have to explain because our group of Atheists already knew the word and the book. If you used these words around a Christian you’d definitely get a blank look.)

The level of ignorance about their own religion is astonishing, but then again not really – if they knew as much as us, they wouldn’t be able to remain Christians. It would be quite impossible because of the contradictions when even their god utterly refutes himself. Nowadays they like to turn him into a friendly guru that does nothing, but even that’s getting harder, and soon if they are to call themselves Christians, they will have to disavow the miracles and change Christianity into a secular philosophy like Marxism to cope with the modern world. A process, which has been underway since the Christian Dark Ages. 


Actually, I might have already wrote this somewhere before, but it’s still interesting to take stock of what I know at this juncture. Let it be recorded, and if I have written it before, the repetition will only slow down the rate at which I forget distinctions only I know. And if I sound arrogant towards the stubborn and ignorant, that’s exactly how I want to be, for I don’t want to lie about the difference between us.

Leave a Reply

