Using godly names for mundane things

A friend was out walking and he heard a guy say, “Stop it Zeus! Come here!” and this little terrier stopped sniffing dog piss or whatever and trotted over with its tongue lolling. I’d rather name my dog Yahweh or Jesus and be a lord that barks commands to it in front of theists.

If I have a daughter Asherah or Lilith would be an appropriate name. My son would be Alastor, Ares, or Susanou. My cat would be Sphinx, Nemesis, Lucifer. Or I might just keep it consistent and name all my kids after Egyptian gods. It beats keeping the tradition of recycling Hebrew names for regular humans like Adam, Issac, Jacob, Josh, Peter, Michael and Luke.

We should appropriate all the religious words we can to remove their holiness. Amen just means I agree so use it in debates. Try to use Jesus Christ as a swear word so it replaces “bullshit” in future slang. Using God’s name “in vain” evokes the same irrationality as saying Voldemort’s name in Harry Potter. We have to use the words often to get over these stupid taboos.

anubis dog.gif

Leave a Reply

