Why Do Kids Believe in Talking Donkeys in the Bible?


Oh yeah, that passage made me wonder if there was once truth in all those fables and cartoons with talking animals. When I was 12 I wondered why animals didn’t talk anymore when the Donkey had talked, and I asked my grandmother if other animals used to talk. She said no. I thought about the talking snake in Eden and I referred her to the talking donkey passage – she looked it up and said God made it happen. I accepted the answer that the donkey was a weird exception.

After that she said I was asking a lot of difficult questions and wanted me to talk to a priest to get it sorted out, but perhaps she needed to talk to one. I trusted her enough that I wasn’t thinking hard about her answers, but I think maybe trying to answer questions raised by a child had given her doubts.

Leave a Reply

