Catholic Relatives Don’t Believe in Evolution – Journal

 
So, I had met my Catholic relatives (to help move some cabinets apparently), and they were complaining about how progressive liberals had used social Darwinism to hurt “our people” with political cartoons a century ago. I have no idea what she was going on about, but it was the perfect timing to ask the Catholic relatives what the Catholic position on evolution was. They said there was no official position, and what various arch bishops believed were opinions. They said microevolution might be possible (breeding dog variants) but not macroevolution. They said a species cannot turn into another species. (Which covers whether man evolved from apes.)

The mother with her kids said the Big Bang is incredibly impossible for “many reasons” and that Earth is located in an arm of the galaxy where we have an unusually good view of the galaxy which we wouldn’t have if it were anywhere else. She said it’s nearly impossible for a planet to evolve life in the Universe because it has to be at the right distance from the sun, and properly heated and shielded from asteroids with the right atmospheric chemicals and so forth.

She said the universe is like a clock. It’s too complicated and perfect to have been created by chance. She questioned how a baby could evolve to automatically suck on a nipple for milk, and how the mother could evolve to give milk. She said a frog laying eggs in the back of another was an unlikely evolution. She said it was nearly impossible for a mitochoronida and other cell components to evolve, and for all of these things to happen together is ridiculous, can’t you see? She named a bunch more arguments for intelligent design. Then she said you have to get all sides. (She must have thought I hadn’t done that, or heard the names of her arguments before.)

Later she and her kids actually all separately scoffed at me for having a “liberal education”, (their term) implying their education was better. (This blatant arrogance/prejudice is why I don’t bother to meet with them very often.) I asked the daughter what classes she was taking as a senior and her subjects were “Catholic European history,” “16th century European history”, “Catholic literature”, “Shakespeare” and “Creative Writing” because she is attending a private Catholic University.

The daughter then smiled and said, “I bet you probably weren’t taught the Catholic position at any of your courses at your University.” I replied those classes useful mainly for understanding the history of religion. She said, “But you have to get all sides. Your education didn’t give you all sides.”

The son said “It’s good to check the Christian websites.” The mom added, “Science and religion can coexist.”

The son then told me scientists had invented a new battery that can hold all of the energy being used in the working world, and it can fit inside your hand. I told him that was too incredible to believe, and where did you hear that?

He replied that you have to check multiple sources, and told me a few dozen more crackpot theories he’d read on the internet. (One was that there were significantly fewer exoplanets than we believed, and it was nonsense that any could support life, and a religious scientist had tried to say so but was silenced by the government and “secularists.”)

I told him the his battery idea sounded like cold fusion, and the quality of the source matters. He replied “but I read 3 sources online, from 3 different blogs.”

By the way the mother of these kids is a teacher and she home-schooled her kids their entire lives. In my opinion she has a weak understanding of science, (her concentration is national history) and she should not have attempted to teach it to her kids. (Even though she had online modules for assistance, it wasn’t enough.) They believe whatever their mother told them, and have lived secluded from outside influence their whole lives.

All of them randomly besmirched liberals at least every ten minutes, and identified as (Neo?) conservatives. They also said certain races are genetically better at certain mental tasks, that it matters more than culture, (and then talked about what their race was good at.)

These particular relatives are confident that their family are fortunate enough to see the truth of the world. Anyone who does not concur has not been red-piled, and is clearly brainwashed by society and/or secularism.

Personal Thoughts:

I walked to the beach with the son. He rode a unicycle and had a pair of those shoes with the wheel in the back. None of them had much good to say about Texas or this area. I think they would have trouble adjusting to most places.

I should’ve asked why they choose the Catholic church over the Orthodox which claims to have even older traditions. I’m sure I’d have gotten a made-up, illogical answer.

It was a pretty good reminder of the dangers of isolated thinking, which tends to presume you already have the right answers. It also reminded me of characteristics I don’t want to emulate. It’s like you listen and you think, “Did she really say what I thought she said?” and while you’re still thinking about that she says something equally irrational.

Wouldn’t be so bad to sometimes visit when they come if they still lived in Texas, but the racial prejudices and “I am better than you” arrogance is subtly annoying and tends to wear on you after half a day. (Every time I meet them they love to bring up how I’m part whatever several times, with her son talking about Germans and Irish are smarter, and implying I’m probably good at “X” because I’m part whatever and whatevers are good at “X.” Oh and since I’m part German and part Irish I must be partly as good at whatever his purer German and Irish blood has made him good at.)  It’d be better for me to forget that they’re moving 20 minutes away, and to just visit my grandmother when I know they won’t be there. I should even call her in advance to check.

There’s little sense in forcing myself to deal with people that are so cartoonishly prejudiced, they can make me uncomfortable without even realizing it. They seriously belong in Texas whether they realize it or not. But then again they might not fit in, because the Texans would think they’re rednecks.

At the same time I can’t bring myself to deeply dislike them. A lot of the casual prejudice appears to be directed at “groups and races” (but we’ll make an exception for you for irrational reasons), and it happens because they’re hopelessly ignorant.  They probably became so unpleasant due to circumstances.

Actually no, I think they’re probably even worse when I’m not there, and I shouldn’t give them any benefit of the doubt. They must try to tone down the prejudice around me, except they’re so clumsy they fail miserably. They must be far worse behind closed doors. Holy shit, she even mentioned watching Archie Bunker, and maybe she treats as an educational drama, like a talk radio skit, rather than a comedy.

2 thoughts on “Catholic Relatives Don’t Believe in Evolution – Journal

  1. Sorry, just have to note that these so called “Catholics” simply and sadly have NO IDEA what Catholic doctrine says about science. The Catholic Church has affirmed evolution, it was a Catholic priest who first articulated the Big Bang (and was praised by the Vatican for it), and most Catholic universities [Notre Dame, Georgetown, Villanova, Duquesne, Fordham] have much, MUCH more robust curricula than described here.
    In fact, you would be doing them a great service were you to suggest they talk to their priest about these matters. If they’re Catholic, he should certainly want to set them straight on these points since denying this much of the Magisterium is turning them towards heresy. I don’t know *what* they are but, whatever their tradition, the modifier “uneducated” should probably be attached.
    Very, very sad.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

